ACPNJ Awards 

Congratulations to the following ACPNJ members for being honored with ACP and chapter awards for 2022. More information about ACP awards and Masterships can be found here.

New Jersey Chapter 2022 Laureate Award
Gina LaCapra, MD, FACP

Dr. LaCapra is the Associate Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency at Overlook Medical Center and a Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine at Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University. She is also the Director of the Medical Center for Preoperative Care at Overlook, and Medical Team Leader for the Overlook Hip fracture service.

Dr. LaCapra, who is board certified in Internal Medicine, graduated from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of NJ Medical School, and completed her residency in Internal Medicine at Cooper University Hospital. She is currently affiliated with Atlantic Medical Group and Overlook Medical Center.

Dr. LaCapra is a member of the ACPNJ Council and is the faculty mentor for the Residents’ Committee.  As the faculty mentor, she has coordinated activities designed to prepare residents to continue their scholarly work and develop the skills needed to successfully enter clinical practice.

With distinct pleasure, the ACP New Jersey Chapter presents the 2022 Laureate Award to Dr. Gina LaCapra for her distinguished service to the Chapter and to medicine.

Past Laureate Award Winners

1985    Denise Farnath, MD
1985    Luann Bruno, DO
1985    John Dalena, MD
1987    Stewart F. Alexander, MD, FACP
1988    Arthur Bernstein, MD, FACP
1993    Francis P. Chinard, MD, FACP
1995    Pedro Gascon, MD, FACP
1996    John R. Middleton, MD, FACP
1997    Francis L. Griffin, MD, FACP
1999    Richard L. Klein, MD, FACP
2000    Richard K. Kasama, MD, FACP
2001    Nayan K. Kothari, MD, FACP
2002    A. Ralph Kristeller, MD, FACP
2003    Edward D. Viner, MD, FACP
2004    Leon G. Smith, MD, MACP
2005    John A. Walker, MD, FACP
2006    James D. Brody, MD, FACP
2007    Laura H. Kahn, MD, FACP
2008    Madhu B. Goyal, MD, FACP
2009    Asif A. Hashmi, MD, FACP
2010    Nafisa Y. Bhoori, MD, FACP
2011    Sara L. Wallach, MD, FACP
2012    Beth R. Nalitt, MD, FACP
2013    Michael A. Renzi, DO, FACP
2014    William E. Farrer, MD, FACP
2015    Vijay Rajput, MD, FACP, SFHM
2016    Ranita Sharma, MD, FACP
2017    Sunil Sapru, MD, FACP
2018    David Kuo, MD, FACP
2019    Steven Peskin, MD, FACP
2020    Tamie Proscia-Lieto, MD, FACP
2021     Louis Friedman, DO, FACP
2021     Mirela Feurdean, MD, FACP

Outstanding Service to the Chapter
Elizabeth A. Cerceo, MD, FACP, FHM

The Outstanding Service to the Chapter is awarded to an individual member of the Chapter who has exhibited dedication to the chapter in areas such as advocacy, education, communication, membership, and/or community service, and demonstrated a desire to advance the initiatives of the Chapter.

ACPNJ is pleased to present this award to Dr. Elizabeth Cerceo for her outstanding work as Chair of the Health and Public Policy Committee, as a Wellness Champion, and for her leadership in ACPNJ’s sustainability efforts.

2022 Masterships

Jeffrey Carson, MD, MACP
Saba Hassan, MD, MACP
David Kountz, MD, MBA, MACP

Positive Impact New Jersey Award
New Jersey Immunization Network

The Positive Impact New Jersey award is presented to an organization or individual who has demonstrated a commitment to improving the health of the citizens of New Jersey through education, activities, and building trust in public health.

ACPNJ is pleased to present this award to the New Jersey Immunization Network for their work in New Jersey’s COVID-19 vaccine program. NJIN is a statewide coalition of over 400 individuals representing 180 organizations.  The mission of the New Jersey Immunization Network is to protect the health of all individuals through timely, age-appropriate immunization against vaccine-preventable diseases by educating the public, healthcare professionals, and policymakers about vaccine safety and benefits.